WEST VIRGINIA UNIVERSITY

Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources & Design Standing Appointed Committee Recommendations 2019-20

EXECUTIVE (elected committee)

Eugenia Pena-Yewtukhiw, Chair	2022 - PSS
Amy Welsh	2020 – FNR
Joseph Moritz	2020 - ANS
Mike Strager	2023 – REM
Jessica Blythe	2023 - DCD
Ken Blemings (ex-officio)	

ACADEMIC STANDARDS & CURRICULUM

MISSION: The primary mission of the Academic Standards, Curriculum, and Courses Committee is to safeguard the quality of education and monitor the composition of the College curricula to assure continued strength and quality in all programs offered by the Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources & Design. The Academic Standards, Curriculum, and Courses Committee is comprised of five members, one from each Division of the College. This committee reviews all proposed curriculum changes, provides feedback, and makes recommendations to the College regarding proposed changes. The committee also reviews student's petitions regarding course changes, substitutions and other academic issues. After elaboration, the committee provides recommendation of approval/disapproval to the Associate Dean of Academic Affairs. When the academic problem is out of the expert areas of the committee, the recommendation is based on the professional opinion of instructors from other academic units of the University.

> 2020 – FNR 2020 – REM 2021 - DCD 2021 – PSS 2021 - ANS

John Edwards, Chair	
Cheryl Brown	
Michael Dougherty	
Louis McDonald	
Melissa Ventura-Marra	
Todd Petty (ex-officio, non-voting member)	

STUDENT RESEARCH AND CREATIVE SCHOLARSHIP

MISSION: The Davis College Student Research and Creative Scholarship Committee is designed to organize an annual event where undergraduate and graduate students in agriculture, natural resources and design present selected papers and posters that represent their research and creative scholarship efforts. It is an opportunity to provide recognition to the scholarly work of the Davis College students and to enhance their professional development. The event also allows for recognition and appreciation of the diversity across disciplines and students in the Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Design.

Sophan Chhin	2020 - FNR
Hodjat Ghadimi	2020 – DCD
Michael Gutensohn	2021 - PSS
Cangliang Shen	2021 – ANS
Xiaoli Etienne	2022 - REM

DIVERSITY

MISSION: The unifying core of the work for the Diversity Committee centers on promoting positive character, ethics, responsibility and respect related to the Davis College faculty, staff, and students.

Hodjat Ghadimi, Chair	2020 - DCD
Melissa Olfert	2020 – ANS
Ember Morrissey	2021 - PSS
Kirsten Stephan	2021 – FNR
Dee Singh-Knights	2022 - REM
Robert Burns	ex officio

FACULTY SUPPORT

MISSION: The Faculty Support Committee (FS) is responsible for identifying and addressing the needs of new and continuing faculty in the Davis College in a variety of venues. The FS committee is comprised of five members, one from each Division of the College. These representatives may recruit other Division representatives to serve on ad hoc committees to address specific issues or larger projects as needed. Areas of concentration for the FS committee will include but not be limited to:

- 1. Information Technology The committee will serve as a channel through which any member of the College may provide input into College-wide computing and related technology needs. IT support is centralized at the University level, so this committee will review, process, and forward relevant requests.
- 2. Faculty Development The committee will propose and coordinate (as appropriate) activities to support the professional development of the Davis College faculty and maximize faculty success. This will include the solicitation of applications and awarding of funding for available College-level faculty development awards.
- 3. Library Resources The committee will be responsible for receiving and processing appropriate requests for library resources, and for conducting periodic reviews of current library serial titles to determine continued need.

Classroom Facilities – The committee will serve as a voice for the faculty in what is needed in classrooms to enhance the teaching, research and service missions and what the quality of life is in these classrooms. Facilities planning has been centralized at the University level, so this committee will provide information and support as needed to the Facilities group.

Gene Felton	2020 – ANS
Teiya Kijimoto	2021 - PSS
Lisa Orr	2021 - DCD
Chris Rota	2021 - FNR
Heather Stephens	2022 - REM
Todd Petty (ex-officio, non-voting member)	
Ben Groover (Technical Consultant, non-voting member	;)

MASTER OF AGRICULTURE PROGRAM

MISSION: The purpose of the Davis College Master of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Design (MANRD) Committee is to ensure that high quality students with the necessary prerequisites are admitted to the MANRD program. The Committee reviews the operation of the MANRD program periodically in terms of whether it is adequately meeting the needs of non-traditional pre-professional students and makes recommendations for improvement of its operations.

Todd Petty, Associate Dean Jessica Blythe, Design and Community Development Elizabeth Byrd, Resource Management Brett Kenney, Animal and Nutritional Sciences Joseph McNeel, Forestry Thomas Griggs, Plant and Soil Sciences

SPECIAL EVENTS

MISSION: The Special Events Committee of the Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Design is a faculty committee that organizes special events where members of the college faculty get an opportunity to interact in a social setting with each other, emeritus faculty, staff, graduate students, and members of the College Visiting Committee. The committee's express mission is to:

- Promote fellowship and improve communication among college faculty and
- Organize events where the college community can meet at social events.

More specifically, the Special Events committee organizes a minimum of:

- 1. an annual fall picnic, which provides opportunity for graduate students, staff retired faculty and their families to interact in an informal setting, and annual employee recognition luncheon
- 2. an annual convocation reception for graduating students and their parents.

Other activities should be planned as a part of the Special Events Committee's responsibility based on needs identified by the College governance or other recommendations.

Colleen Moretz	2021 - DCD
Zachary Freedman	2021 - PSS
J. Deng	2020 – FNR
Brett Kenney	2020 - ANS
Elizabeth Byrd	2022 - REM

<u>STUDENT AID AND GRANTS</u> (Recruitment staff person to hold an ex-officio position on this committee to coordinate recruitment with student aid and grants)

MISSION: To review the criteria of the various scholarships in the Davis College, review applications for the scholarships funds from students in the College and make recommendations for award of the funds.

Kim Barnes, Chair	2020 - ANS
Nicole Waterland	2020 - PSS
Shan Jiang	2021 – DCD
Chris Lituma	2021 - FNR
Levan Elbakidze	2022 - REM
Amber Hines (ex-officio, non-voting member)	

DCANRD Graduate Faculty Council (elected committee):

2019 - PSS
2019 – ANS
2019 – REM
2020 - FNR
2020 - DCD

DCANRD Representatives to WVU Graduate Council (elected members):

Patricia Mazik	2020
Jinyang Deng	2020

DCANRD P&T Committee (elected committee - one year term) -

Jason Hubbart, Chair (PSS) Ron Dulaney (DCD) Kristen Matak (ANS) Chad Pierskalla (FNR) Mike Strager (REM) James Thompson (PSS)

DCANRD Faculty Senators (elected members):

Matak, Kristen (ANS) 2020 McKibben, Jason (DCD) 2020 Schaeffer, Peter (REM) 2020 Benedito, Vagner (PSS) 2021 Welsh, Amy (FNR) 2021 Zegre, Nicolas (FNR) 2022

WVAFES Publications Committee:

Matt Wilson, Chair

Scott Bowdridge	(ANS)
John Edwards	(FNR)
Hodjat Ghadimi	(DCD)
Matt Kasson	(PSS)
Mark Sperow	(REM)